You can use your existing Medical Independent, MediLearning or PharmacistCPD account to log in. is Ireland's only investigative medical news website for doctors, healthcare professionals and anyone with an interest in health issues.

Established in 2010, along with its sister publication The Medical Independent, our stated aim is to investigate and analyse the major issues affecting healthcare and the medical profession in Ireland. The Medical Independent has won a number of awards for its investigative journalism, and its stories are frequently picked up by national digital, broadcast and print media. The Medical Independent is published by GreenCross Publishing.

Address: Top Floor, 111 Rathmines Road Lr, Dublin 6

Tel: 353 (01) 441 0024

GreenCross Publishing is owned by Graham Cooke.

The benefits of registering: only registered users:
  • receive the ecCopy two days prior to the printed edition.
  • have automatic access to our free CPD sites.
  • can partake in our online MCQs.
  • can enter our online sports quiz.

Sign up now for ease of access to The Medical Independent, Ireland’s most frequently published medical newspaper, delivering award-winning news and investigative reporting.

Download the new Mindo app for both IOS & Android.

  • Get notified when a story goes live
  • Access Premium Content
  • Read Offline
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public"]

You are reading 1 of 2 free-access articles allowed for 30 days

Winners announced for National GP Awards 2018

By Dermot - 26th Sep 2018 | 4 views

General practitioners and healthcare professionals were presented with Awards across 11 categories by television personality, Dr Pixie McKenna (pictured above). A further 21 nominees were commended for their contributions to healthcare across the country.    <br /> <br />Now in its third year, the annual National GP Awards recognise excellence, innovation and collaboration amongst GPs, hospitals and healthcare professionals all over Ireland. This year, over 200 nominations were received from all over the country across all 11 categories, from both healthcare professionals and patients.<br /> <br />Dr Shane McKeogh of said: “The quality of the nominations for the Awards this year was truly outstanding.  We are all familiar with the pressure the healthcare sector is under and in particular GPs who are the cornerstone of family healthcare.  These Awards are about stopping and taking some time to appreciate the positive work that has been done to improve healthcare for patients and the achievements of general practitioners and primary care teams in general across the country.”<br /> <br />Mr Barry Downes, Country Manager at Affidea Ireland and a member of the judging panel, said: “The high level of excellence in General Practice and the stories of GP care that go above and beyond the call of duty, as documented by the patients themselves, gets better every year. Congratulations to all the winners and the hard working and dedicated leaders in their fields who were nominated, which is a testament in itself.”

<strong>GP TRAINEE OF THE YEAR </strong>

<br />Dr Ahmeda Ali – North-Eastern GP Training Scheme<br /> <br /> <br /><strong>ESTABLISHING GP OF THE YEAR </strong>

<strong></strong><br />Dr Anna Foy and Dr Peter Kelly – Greystones Family Doctors<br /> <br /><br /><strong>PRACTICE MANAGER OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Georgie Sliney McCormack – Calderwood Family Clinic<br /> <br /> &nbsp;<br /><strong>PRACTICE NURSE OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Ms Eilish O’Sullivan – Riverside Medical Centre<br /> <br /><br /><strong>GP TRAINER OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Dr Jack Keane – Seaholm Surgery, Skerries, Co Dublin<br /> <br /><strong></strong>

<strong>BEST GP AND HOSPITAL COLLABORATION</strong><br /> <br />GP Dermatology Top Ten – Dr Rosalind Hughes, Consultant Dermatologist and Dr Roisin Hambly, Specialist Registrar, St Vincent’s University Hospital.<br /> <br /><br /><strong>INNOVATION IN PRACTICE</strong><br /> <br />SNAP GP – Dr Tommy Lynch<br /> <br /> <br /><strong>SAFETY IN PRACTICE</strong><br /> <br />ATRIAL FIBRILLATION AND STROKE: ABCD OF AF-STROKE PREVENTION IN GP – Dr Diarmuid Quinlan<br /> <br />  <br /><strong>RURAL PRACTICE OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Buttevant Medical Centre, Buttevant, Co Cork – Dr Michael Kennedy<br /> <br /><strong></strong>

<strong>PATIENTS’ CHOICE AWARD</strong><br /> <br />Dr Eileen O’Connor, Louisburgh Medical Practice, Co Mayo.<br /> <br /><br /><strong>GP OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Dr John Latham, Latham Medical Centre, Dublin 8.<br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br />

Leave a Reply

[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public-2"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public-2"]
Latest Issue
The Medical Independent – 24 June 2021

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.

[the_ad_placement id="main-mpu-public"]
Most Read
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public-2"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public-2"]