You can use your existing Medical Independent, MediLearning or PharmacistCPD account to log in. is Ireland's only investigative medical news website for doctors, healthcare professionals and anyone with an interest in health issues.

Established in 2010, along with its sister publication The Medical Independent, our stated aim is to investigate and analyse the major issues affecting healthcare and the medical profession in Ireland. The Medical Independent has won a number of awards for its investigative journalism, and its stories are frequently picked up by national digital, broadcast and print media. The Medical Independent is published by GreenCross Publishing.

Address: Top Floor, 111 Rathmines Road Lr, Dublin 6

Tel: 353 (01) 441 0024

GreenCross Publishing is owned by Graham Cooke.

The benefits of registering: only registered users:
  • receive the ecCopy two days prior to the printed edition.
  • have automatic access to our free CPD sites.
  • can partake in our online MCQs.
  • can enter our online sports quiz.

Sign up now for ease of access to The Medical Independent, Ireland’s most frequently published medical newspaper, delivering award-winning news and investigative reporting.

Download the new Mindo app for both IOS & Android.

  • Get notified when a story goes live
  • Access Premium Content
  • Read Offline
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public"]

You are reading 1 of 2 free-access articles allowed for 30 days

Minister Simon Harris appoints new Medical Council

By Dermot - 15th Jun 2018 | 3 views

The 25 member Council has a majority of non-medical members, consisting of 13 non-medical members and 12 medical members. Six members of the Council were elected by registered medical practitioners, five were appointed by the Minister for Health via the Public Appointments Service, one was nominated by the Minister for Education and Skills and the remaining 13 appointed by a number of nominating bodies. Nine of the members served on the last Medical Council having been reappointed or re-elected. <br /><br />CEO of the Medical Council, Mr Bill Prasifka, said: “We welcome the new members to the Medical Council and welcome back those who have been reappointed. The Medical Council has a very important duel role in protecting patients and supporting doctors and the insights, experience and contributions of the new members will be invaluable to the Medical Council in fulfilling these roles. We very much look forward to working with them throughout their term.”<br /><br />The members of the Medical Council are equipped to discharge their significant duties under the statutory authority of the Medical Practitioners Act 2007 in the skillsets and extensive experience they lend to the Council and an initial and ongoing familiarisation and learning and development programme. Council will hold their first meeting in early July, where the President and Vice President will be elected by secret ballot.

<ul> <li><strong>Dr John Barragry</strong>  (Medical Member / Nominated by the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland)</li> <li><strong>Ms Vicky Blomfield</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by HIQA)</li> <li><strong>Dr Anthony Breslin</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (Public Health Medicine))</li> <li><strong>Ms Teresa Bulfin</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by HSE)</li> <li><strong>Dr Thomas Crotty</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (Radiology))</li> <li><strong>Dr Suzanne Crowe</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (Anaesthesia))</li> <li><strong>Dr Marcus De Brun</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (not falling in any other category))</li> <li><strong>Dr Rita Doyle</strong> (Medical Member / Nominated by the Irish College of General Practitioners)</li> <li><strong>Ms Mary Duff </strong>(Non-Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Professor Fidelma Dunne</strong> (Medical Member / Nominated by Medical Schools)</li> <li><strong>Mr John Gleeson</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Mr Paul Harkin</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Professor John Hyland</strong> (Medical Member / Nominated by Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland)</li> <li><strong>Professor Mary Leader</strong> (Medical Member / Nominated by Medical Schools)</li> <li><strong>Ms Alison Lindsay</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Professor Marina Lynch</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by the Royal Irish Academy)</li> <li><strong>Dr Erica Maguire</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (not being consultant, practicing medicine in hospital))</li> <li><strong>Ms Catherine McKenna</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by CORU)</li> <li><strong>Dr Maeve Moran</strong> (Non-Medical Member/ Nominated by Irish Psychiatric Training Committee)</li> <li><strong>Dr Aoife Mullally</strong> (Medical Member / Elected (Obs & Gynae))</li> <li><strong>Mr Joe O’Donovan</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by Private Hospital Association)</li> <li><strong>Mr Tom O’Higgins</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Mr Jim O’Sullivan</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Nominated by HSE)</li> <li><strong>Prof Mary O’Sullivan</strong> (Non-Medical Member / Minister of Education and Skills Nominee)</li> <li><strong>Vacant</strong> (Nominated by Nursing and Midwifery Board Ireland)</li> </ul>

<em><br /></em>In addition to the Council itself, there are a number of Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups which report to the Council. Each Council term is for a period of up to five years meaning that this current Councils will be in place until May 2023.

Leave a Reply

[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public-2"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public-2"]
Latest Issue
The Medical Independent – 24 June 2021

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.

[the_ad_placement id="main-mpu-public"]
Most Read
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-public-2"]
[the_ad_placement id="main-ldb-mobile-public-2"]